Petra Entrance Fees

It seems that my posts have been reduced to tweets, but I felt like I needed to elaborate more on this topic as much as it infuriated me.

A friend mentioned the other day how he was with a group of friends going to Petra, and one of them did not have a Jordanian nationality and as a result had to pay 90 JDs (130$)  in comparison with the 1 JD fee for Jordanians. I was shocked. 90 JDs? No way. But I checked it, and lo and behold, the entrance fee for Petra is 90 JDs which apparently now includes a horse ride from the Visitor Center to the entrance of the Siq, informational brochures and maps and a guiding service. Great. Camel and donkey rides however are available at extra cost.

But then I thought, wait this is one of the new world wonders. Maybe I am overreacting. Perhaps all sites of such historic importance have such a steep entrance fee. So here are the entrance fees for foreigners in the following world wonders:

  • Machu Picchu in Peru: 40$ with 50% off for students.
  • Taj Mahal in India: 15$
  • Chichen Itza in Mexico: 12$
  • The Colosseum in Italy: 12$
  • Great Wall of China: 14$
  • Christ the Redeemer in Rio: Free

So what possible justification does the Ministry of Tourism have for such an obscene sum? I for one will not be encouraging anyone I know to visit Petra. It would be rather humiliating to have someone I know have to pay such a fee. So there you have it, the proof that our government can take the most spectacular of things and make it as they say, sammet badan…

13 responses to “Petra Entrance Fees

  1. 90JD is the entrance rate for someone not spending the night in Jordan. It is specifically targeted at Israelis who come in for the day, bring their own water and food, then go home.

    If you can prove you spent the night in the country, I am pretty sure it is 50JD for one and 70JD for two. Still high. So thankful for our iqaama.

  2. @Kinzi: so the overnight visitor pass would work for someone who’s staying in Jordan for a more than a day but not in Petra?

  3. Farah, I believe so, that’s what friends visiting us paid and they made a day trip to Petra from Amman.

  4. @Kinzi and how would they know if someone were say staying by a friend in Amman?

    Regardless, this is a really stupid way of handling the problem. They should be encouraging visitors (I don’t mean Israelis here, I mean visitors in general, many of whom come from Egypt as well) to stay longer rather than trying to screw them for everything they’ve got. Let’s face it, Jordan doesn’t have an adequate infrastructure for tourists and especially budget tourists. But with a reputation of hospitality, we get on by. And this is destroying it. People generally tend not to go back to where they’re ripped off!

  5. The high fees in Petra have been a matter of debate since the decision taken by the Petra Region Tourism Development Authority PDTRA. I do agree that JD 90 is rather excessive, but that amount is intended for visitors who come to the site for the day only and do not spend the night in Jordan. My Austrian guests, staying with us in Amman, recently visited the site and were charged JD 70 for 2 people to enter Petra, their son entered for free. While that fee is still high, it is much more reasonable that the day visitor fee. What remains missing, however, are the services that are expected in return for the fee. There is still work to be done!

  6. Thanks for looking out for us Americans in Jordan! And by the by, those donkey rides are not safe. My mother was tossed on her ass by her ass b/c the 8 yr old boy walking beside her stopped for a tea. Thank God she was not hurt. Point being that those animal rides should be a choice, not included in the admission price.

  7. I had visited Petra seven years ago, and intend to go there again with my girl friend in next year, but I found the entrance fee now upto JD70 for two,so really have to reconsider go there or go to Egypt instead.

  8. I too am shocked by the extortionate price hike. I am due to visit in November , can someone confirm that the entrance fee is 70 JD for two to visit and not 50 JD per person.

  9. It’s 50 JD per non-Jordanian to my knowledge (if they can prove they are staying for more than one night).

  10. I was there in January (and will be going back January 2013) and it was 50JD for one night or 55JD for 2 night or 60JD for THREE nights.

  11. Doesn’t sound right at all 1 JD vs 90 JD. Alas, it’s true. What made me angry was that local and Arabs pay 1 JD.
    They must hate our (tourist)guts charging
    JD 50 to JD 90. Then again for that price you really do get to practice your Arabic: saying “leh shukran” a 100 times to bedu’s selling you stuff.
    On top of that in Wadi Musa, shops & restaurants charge tourists triple, if not more, of what a local would pay.
    I love Jordan, but I never ever go back to Petra/Wadi Musa again. It’s a super tourist trap.

  12. I took my father in law (french national) yesterday to Petra. I paid 1jd he paid 50jd. After passing the day there. He said yes it is great place but still the 50jd is not just. Thing is it seams because of the high admission fee that tourist are resisting to purchase anything else during their visit. Had the ticket been around 25jd I think they would be happier and spend more on things like souvenirs, food and drinks inside. And perhaps even recommend this place for more people to visit. I have not heard anyone anywhere else say a sight is too expensive to visit except here in Petra.

    The body responsible for keeping Petra in order must educate the people who work on horses, camels, asses, and who sell souvenirs that the when a tourist says ‘No thank you’ the word ‘NO’ really means just that, NO.

  13. You post very interesting articles here.
    Your blog deserves much more visitors. It can go viral if you give it initial boost,
    i know very useful tool that can help you, simply search in google:
    svetsern traffic tips

Leave a Reply

